Winners announced for the 2017 New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults

By | August 19, 2017

Margaret Mahy Book of the Year and winner of the Russell Clark Award for Illustration:

Snark Being a true history of the expedition that discovered the Snark and the Jabberwock . . . and its tragic aftermath illustrated and written (after Lewis Carroll) by David Elliot.


Picture Book Award:

That’s Not a Hippopotamus! by Juliette MacIver and illustrated by Sarah Davis.


Esther Glen Award for Junior Fiction:

My New Zealand Story: Bastion Point by Tania Roxborogh.


Copyright Licensing NZ Award for Young Adult Fiction:

The Severed Land by Maurice Gee.


Elsie Locke Award for Non-Fiction:

Jack and Charlie: Boys of the bush by Jack Marcotte and Josh James Marcotte.


Te Kura Pounamu Award for the best book in Te Reo Māori:

Te Kaihanga Māpere by Sacha Cotter, translated by Kawata Teepa and illustrated by Josh Morgan.


Best First Book Award:

The Discombobulated Life of Summer Rain by Julie Lamb.