Ockham Shortlist Announced

By | March 6, 2019

The shortlist for the Ockham New Zealand Book Awards has been announced. The winners will be announced on May 14.

Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize:

  • The New Ships by Kate Duignan
  • The Cage by Lloyd Jones
  • This Mortal Boy by Fiona Kidman
  • All This By Chance by Vincent O’Sullivan

Mary and Peter Biggs Award for Poetry:

  • Are Friends Electric? by Helen Heath
  • There’s No Place Like the Internet in Springtime by Erik Kennedy
  • The Facts by Theres Lloyd
  • Poukahangtus by Tayi Tibble

Illustrated Non-Fiction:

  • Fight for the Forests: The Pivotal Campaigns that Saved New Zealand’s Native Forest by Paul Bensemann
  • Wanted: The Search for the Modernist Murals of E. Mervyn Taylor edited by Bronwyn Holloway-Smith.
  • Tatau: A History of Samoan Tattooing by Sean Mallon and Sebastien Galliot
  • Birdstories: A History of the Birds of New Zealand by Geoff Norman

Royal Society Te Aparangi Award for General Non-Fiction:

  • Hudson and Halls: The Food of Love by Joanne Drayton
  • Memory Pieces by Maurice Gee
  • We Can Make a Life by Chessie Henry
  • With Them Through Hell: New Zealand Medical Services in the First World War by Anna Rogers