Finalists Announced

By | March 27, 2017

The annual Ockham New Zealand Book Awards offer four principal prizes: the Poetry Award, the Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize, the Illustrated Non-Fiction Award and the Royal Society Te Apārangi Award for General Non-Fiction. There are also four Best First Book awards, and a Māori language award for books written entirely in te reo Māori, awarded at the judges’ discretion.

The awards ceremony will be held in May.

Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize:

The Wish Child, by Catherine Chidgey.

Love as a Stranger, by Owen Marshall.

Billy Bird, by Emma Neale.

The Name on the Door is Not Mine, by C.K. Stead.


Fake Aitu / Spirit House, by Tusiata Avia.

Hera Lindsay Bird, by Hera Lindsay Bird.

Fits & Starts, by Andrew Johnston.

This Paper Boat, by Gregory Kan.

Illustrated Non-Fiction:

A History of New Zealand Women, by Barbara Brookes.

New Zealand Wine: The Land, the Vines, the People, by Warren Moran.

Ann Shelton: Dark Matter, edited by Zara Stanhope and managing editor Clare McIntosh.

Bloomsbury South: The Arts in Christchurch 1933-1953, by Peter Simpson.

Royal Society Te Apārangi Award for General Non-Fiction:

This Model World: Travels to the Edge of Contemporary Art, by Anthony Byrt.

My Father’s Island, by Adam Dudding.

The Big Smoke: New Zealand Cities 1840-1920, by Ben Schrader.

Can You Tolerate This?, by Ashleigh Young.